• Government Official Site showcases official Information and Documents.


The National Assembly of Malawi is the supreme legislative body of the nation. The parliament building is located in City Centre Lilongwe City along Presidential Way. The National Assembly alone possesses legislative supremacy and thereby ultimate power over all other political bodies in Malawi. At its head is the Speaker of the House who is elected by his or her peers. Since June 19, 2019 the Speaker is Catherine Gotani Hara. She is the first female speaker of parliament.
The 1994 Constitution provided for a Senate but Parliament repealed it. Malawi therefore has a unicameral legislature in practice. The National Assembly has 193 Members of Parliament (MPs) who are directly elected in single-member constituencies using the simple majority (or first-past-the-post) system and serve five-year terms.
According to the Constitution members of the political party whose president wins the Presidential elections automatically sits on the government side of the house. The government side bring the government business. Currently the Government side comprise of members of The Malawi Congress party, UTM, peoples Party and other parties in the Tonse Alliance who have seats.

History of the Malawi Parliament
Malawi parliament was first based in Zomba the former capital City of the Country. The parliament housing moved to Lilongwe in 1994 where it was housed at the new state house before the independent parliament building was completed in and handed over for in 20 May 2010.